Camera Kit for web surface tracking

Options
Thor
Thor Posts: 8

Hi,
I'm new to Camera Kit for web and I'd like to get a simple demo running. Just a cube that stays on a surface or similar. So far I've tried with a couple of lenses and existing templates (eg. Portal) but no luck with the camera kit for web. The object simply doesn't show.
Can anyone share a working example for surface tracking on the web please? I have seen the existing face filter demos, they work great. But surface tracking isn't.

Any pointers are highly appreciated.

Thank you

Best Answers

• Michael Mase
    Michael Mase Posts: 66 🔥🔥
    #2 Answer ✓
    Options

Hi @Thor!

For surface tracking work, the user needs to interact with the output canvas (typically by tapping it) so that Safari can request permission for the application to use the gyroscope and accelerometer. You may want to add a "tap here to provide permission" prompt in your Lens.

Additionally, when you set your source on your Camera Kit session, you'll need to specify that it is a back facing camera in order for surface tracking to be enabled. Instructions for this are here: https://docs.snap.com/camera-kit/quick-start/integrate-sdk/integrate-sdk-web/web-configuration#source

If you still have issues please let me know!

• Thor
    #3 Answer ✓
    Options

Hi Michael, thank you. I had granted the permissions and had done a click to get the sensor permissions popup.
    What was missing was the instructions to use the back camera.
    await session.setSource(mediaStream,{cameraType: 'back'});
    However, this also means that I should not use:
    const source = createMediaStreamSource(mediaStream);
    but instead use the mediaStream directly:

const mediaStream = await navigator.mediaDevices.getUserMedia({
                audio: false,
                // video: true,
                video: {
                  facingMode: { exact: "environment" },
                },
              });