How do I use my own animation for Bitmoji on PlayCanvas?

Kotone
Kotone Posts: 15 🔥

hello. I am a Japanese developer.
Currently, we are developing SnapMini using Bitmoji on PlayCanvas.
I made my own animation in Maya while looking at the Bitmoji document, but the correct animation data (GLB format) is not created even if I import it into PlayCanvas.
Even if I output GLB format data in Maya, I could not use it in PlayCanvas.
I've been doing a lot of research, but I don't understand why I can't use my own animation.
I would like you to tell me. Thank you.

Best Answers

• Kotone
    edited July 2022 #2 Answer ✓

I was able to apply my own animation to Bitmoji by following the steps below. Is this the correct way?
    Do you have a better idea?

① Select "snap_bake.py> PlayCanvas-Mobile" in Maya and execute Export.

② Exported FBX data to "BitmojiForGames-master \ Documentation \ AnimationToolset \ converters"
    Open it with "FBX2glTF-windows-x64.exe" in. (https://github.com/Bitmoji/BitmojiForGames)

③ Open the output GLTF data in Blender

④ Output in GLB format with Blender

The animation created by the above method did not contain face animation data. Is there any solution here?

• yaustar
    yaustar Posts: 6
    edited August 2022 #3 Answer ✓

There's two parts here:

Using the mac version of the convertor, I created a binary glb with the following command:

./FBX2glTF -i sidewalk_L_000.fbx -j sidewalk_L_000.json -b

(Use ./FBX2glTF -h for all the commands)

This gave me a file sidewalk_L_000.glb with the face animations flips inside it.

I then went to test it in a fork of the 3D Bitmoji Library project https://playcanvas.com/project/964811/overview/kotone-bitmoji-animation

And found out that the timings for the faces to change where at frame times that was longer than the animation.

The animation is about 1.3 secs long but the you can see from the JSON data in the animation:

"extras": {
        "facial_swaps": {
            "expressions": [